Amaretto rice pudding

Nothing new under the sun! How many recipes have been written on how to prepare a  rice pudding??

IMG_7966[1]

Yesterday morning I was starving. On Sunday night I had completely forgotten to eat (I was busy dancing, I guess. I had a very long bank holiday weekend full of parties). In the morning I felt I definitely needed some carbs but my fridge was quite empty.

I woke up thinking: what can I eat? in Italy we always have sweet breakfast, so I am used to eating a sweet meal in the morning, even though I have spent the last seven years of my life in England. I needed a kind of filling dessert. I always have rice in my house (especially rice used for risotto) and have quite a few sweet spices and ingredients. Then I opened my cupboard and I found it: a bottle of Amaretto was calling me! The magic ingredient I needed for a different rice pudding.

For who doesn’t know, Amaretto is a sweet almond flavour liqueur (the most famous one is the Disaronno). It is slightly alcoholic but perfect if you just sip one shot. So, why not to include a shot of Amaretto in my rice pudding? 🙂

As you might have understood from my previous recipes, I am not extremely precise with measurements. I put the ingredients in a pot, taste them and add something more to adjust the flavour.

So the final recipe was a result of the following ingredients:

  • A bit less than a glass of arborio (or Baldo) rice.
  • Almond milk (maybe two glasses). You need to add milk into the rice, depending on how much milk is absorbed to cook the rice.
  • Ground cinnamon
  • 2 spoons of coconut powder
  • 2 spoons of almond powder
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1 spoon of Maple Syrup
  • 1 shot of Amaretto

How to prepare it: 

Mix the rice with coconut powder, almond powder, sugar and cinnamon. In a pot boil the almond milk that you will pour into the rice. Pour the milk into the rice and add the Amaretto and the Maple Syrup. You need to cover the rice and when the milk is absorbed, add more milk until the rice is ready. If you like, add more cinnamon. Either eat it hot or cool it down and put it into the fridge, if you prefer to eat it cold.

I was starving so I couldn’t wait! Great result and very almondy taste!

 

3 thoughts on “Amaretto rice pudding

Leave a Reply

